Skip to main content

Sept. 11, 2017 - Time to Update Your Lexicomp Code!

Update your Lexicomp App by following these instructions:

For iOS Users (iPhone/iPad)

  • On an RQHR computer, go to online.lexi.com
  • Click the Mobile App Access button in the top right corner
  • Select your device, then select Existing
  • Copy the Authorization Code, then click the link: http://www.lexi.com/account/
  • Login to your Lexicomp account (use forgot password if you don't remember)
  • Paste the Authorization Code into the Product Code section under "Add a Subscription by Code"
  • Click Add Subscription
  • Success! Now your app is updated on your phone!

For Android Users

  • On an RQHR computer, go to online.lexi.com
  • Click the Mobile App Access button in the top right corner
  • Select your device, then select Existing (take note of Authorization code)
  • Open the Lexicomp app on your device
  • Tap the Update icon
  • Press the Menu button and tap Add Product (Please note that if it first states "Cancel Update" you will need to tap on "Cancel Update" and then repeat this step)
  • Enter the Authorization Code; tap Done
  • Success! Now your app is updated!

**Update your code by September 29th or you will lose access**

If you need assistance, contact the library at 766.4142, library@rqhealth.ca or come down to the library and assist you in person.

Jan. 6, 2017 - Notice of disruption

There will be a temporary disruption in responding to article requests sent to the Health Sciences Library between January 10-12, 2017.  Any urgent requests will be handled on Friday January 13 in the morning.  Library staff will attempt to fulfill accumulated article requests by the end of the week.  Same day delivery cannot be guaranteed, depending on the source of the article.  We will try to work our magic if at all possible!

We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your cooperation.

Nov. 21, 2016 - Trissel's IV Compatibility for Lexicomp

Trissel's™ 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database by Lawrence A. Trissel is now the exclusive IV Compatibility solution for Wolters Kluwer Clinical Drug Information and its Lexicomp® application!

REMINDER: If you currently have access to the King Guide® for Parenteral Admixtures™ in Lexicomp Online or Mobile Apps, please note that it will be removed from your subscription on November 29, 2016. Your online subscription will update automatically, with no action required by you! App users will need to update their IV Compatibility database.

Get started using the Trissel's IV Compatibility module right away!

■ 

View the training video

■ 

Learn more about the module

■ 

Access a step-by-step guide for updating your mobile app

 

 

Contact library@rqhealth.ca / 766.4142 for assistance

May 24, 2016 - Changes to SHIRP Collection

2015-2016 changes to the SHIRP collection are below. Please let us know if any removals effect you: library@rqhealth.ca

Not renewed:

  • BMJ Clinical Evidence
  • OVID Premier
  • EBSCO Full Text Package:
    • Biomedical Reference Collection Comprehensive
    • MEDLINE with Full Text
    • Psychology & Behavioural Sciences Collection
    • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    • Natural & Alternative Treatment
    • Nursing and Allied Health Collection
  • OrthoEvidence
  • International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
  • Nursing Collection 1
  • PsycARTICLES

Resources added:

  • The American Journal of Psychiatry
  • Psychiatric News
  • Psychiatric Services
  • JAMA
  • JAMA Cardiology
  • JAMA Dermatology
  • JAMA Facial Plastic Surgery
  • JAMA Internal Medicine
  • JAMA Neurology
  • JAMA Opthamology
  • JAMA Otolargyngology – Head & Neck Surgery
  • JAMA Pediatrics
  • JAMA Psychiatry
  • JAMA Surgery
  • Chest
  • Diabetes (coming soon)

Resources renewed:

  • Access Medicine 
  • BMJ Journal Package
  • CINAHL with Full Text
  • DSM-5 Library
  • Elsevier journals
  • Longwoods Journals
  • LWW Total Access Collection (2016)
  • MEDLINE (OVID)
  • Natural Medicines
  • Nursing Reference Center Plus
  • Pediatrics
  • PsycINFO
  • RxFiles Academic Detailing Program
  • RxTx
  • STAT!Ref
  • Rehabilitation Reference Centre/Rehabilitation and Sports Medicine Source
  • The Cochrane Library

Feb. 24, 2016 - Drug Resources

As of April 1st, 2016, we will no longer have access to International Pharmaceutical Abstracts. 

Use one of these great drug resources for your research needs:

Contact library@rqhealth.ca for more information on resources, subject alerts or a request a literature search!

Feb. 11, 2016 - CPS 2016 Available now!

The print CPS 2016 is ready to order

Price $309 - Deadline is Feb. 24, 2016 - Please only order one copy per unit.
Click here to order


The Library also offers training sessions for RxTx (formerly eCPS)

RxTx is the new name for the Canadian Pharmacists Association's e-Therapeutics products, which now includes e-CPS. It provides health care professionals with the most current information on drugs available in Canada. 
Click here to access.

Email library@rqhealth.ca to set up one-on-one training.


More online drug resources

Lexicomp
RxFiles
Neofax
Davis's Drug Guide
Natural Medicines

Image credit : Canadian Pharmacists Association

Sept. 24, 2015 - Time to Update Your Lexicomp Code!

Update your Lexicomp App by following these instructions:

For iOS Users (iPhone/iPad)

  • On an RQHR computer, go to online.lexi.com
  • Click the Mobile App Access button in the top right corner
  • Select your device, then select Existing
  • Copy the Authorization Code, then click the link: http://www.lexi.com/account/
  • Login to your Lexicomp account (use forgot password if you don't remember)
  • Paste the Authorization Code into the Product Code section under "Add a Subscription by Code"
  • Click Add Subscription
  • Success! Now your app is updated on your phone!

For Android Users

  • On an RQHR computer, go to online.lexi.com
  • Click the Mobile App Access button in the top right corner
  • Select your device, then select Existing (take note of Authorization code)
  • Open the Lexicomp app on your device
  • Tap the Update icon
  • Press the Menu button and tap Add Product (Please note that if it first states "Cancel Update" you will need to tap on "Cancel Update" and then repeat this step)
  • Enter the Authorization Code; tap Done
  • Success! Now your app is updated!

**Update your code by September 30th or you will lose access**

If you need assistance, contact the library at 766.4142, library@rqhealth.ca or come down to the library and assist you in person.

Sept. 16, 2015 - No Longer Subscribing to BMJ Clinical Evidence

We will no longer have access to BMJ Clinical Evidence as of Sept. 30th, 2015. If you are looking for systematic reviews, please try these great resources:

Contact library@rqhealth.ca for more information

Aug. 14, 2015 - NRC+ App is Here!

The NRC+ App is here!

Click here for downloading instructions

 

A Picture Tells a Thousand Words

Did you know there’s a resource that contains the images you need? Nursing Reference Center™ Plus includes over 1300 images that provide quick memory prompts and keep you updated on new or evolving procedures.

Click here to access the NRC+ desktop version

 

Contact the library@rqhealth.ca for help 

Jun. 11, 2015 - New Resource: PEMSoft!

PEMSoft is the definitive database for evidence-based, clinical information at the point-of-care for patients ranging in age from newborn to young adult.

Click here to try the PEMSoft desktop version

 

Access pediatric clinical answers on the go with the PEMSoft mobile app.

Click here for instructions to download the mobile app

 

Keep an eye out for upcoming training sessions in the Fall. However, you can contact the library for one-on-one training anytime!

Apr. 7, 2015 - Nursing Week 2015

Get involved with #NursesWeek2015! 

Tweet what nursing means to you with the hashtag #nursesweek2015

 

Make the most of the electronic nursing resources the library has to offer:

Keep current with your favourite nursing journals by signing up for the table of contents service and get new issues right to your email. Click here to sign up! 

   American Journal of Nursing

   Canadian Nurse

   Nursing

   and much more, click here!

 

Try out our latest nursing database, Nursing Reference Center Plus! Contact the library for training session to make the most of this resource. 

To access NRC+, click here! 

Mar. 19, 2015 - Health Management and Business Databases Added!

ABI/INFORM

Global Quickly connects business researchers with more of the scholarly information that they need. Contains the full text of thousands of journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.

 

ProQuest Health Management

Designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. Coverage for more than 840 key journals with more than 4,500 doctoral dissertations and theses, provides users with the highest quality content, much of which is not available elsewhere.

Mar. 19, 2015 - Lexicomp App Issues

Apple’s iOS 8.2 upgrade has caused issues with Lexicomp’s mobile Interact module. Specifically, you will no longer be able to add drugs to an interaction check. Tapping the “plus” icon to do so will result in the app crashing back to the home screen. Lexicomp has notified us that they expect a fix to be in place within two weeks.

If you have any questions, please contact the Health Sciences Library at 766-4142 or by email at library@rqhealth.ca

Mar. 19, 2015 - Update to Library Security Protocol

The Health Sciences Library is updating their security procedures. After hours, Security will be performing check-ups and will be asking for individual identification badges. If you wish to stay in the library after hours, please have your hospital identification on you at all times.

If you have any questions please call the library at 766-4142 or email library@rqhealth.ca.

Feb. 12, 2015 - The New and Improved DynaMed App is Here!

The new and improved mobile app provides:

  •  No more need for codes!
  •  Improved user experience
  •  Seamless authentication
  •  Easy access

Features that meet your needs:

  •    Access content offline
  •    Bookmark Favorites
  •    Email topics
  •    Write and save notes about particular topics

 

Downloading the app is easy!

  1. Download the free DynaMed App from the iTunes Store or Google Play.
  2. Access DynaMed from an RQHR computer.
  3. Click on the DynaMed mobile access link from DynaMed and enter your email address. The link will be located at the top toolbar on the left.  An authentication key will be sent to your email.
  4. Open the email from your mobile device.
  5. Within 48 hours, tap on the link in the email to authenticate the app.
    Note: after 48 hours, you will need to request a new authentication key.
  6. The device should be ready to go!

Contact the Health Sciences Library (766-4142 or library@rqhealth.ca) for assistance.

Jan. 29, 2015 - Nursing Reference Center Plus Training

Nursing Reference Center Plus (NRC+) provides point-of-care resources for nurses and allied health care providers. This hands-on class will teach you how to access evidence-based lessons on diseases, skills, procedures, drugs, plus:

  • patient education resources
  • continuing education modules
  • videos and images
  • nursing management leadership topics

 

Training dates available in the IT Training Room:

Feb. 27, 2015 at RGH from 12:00-1:00 pm

Mar. 25, 2015 at Pasqua from 12:00-1:00 pm

Apr. 23, 2015 at WRC from 12:00-1:00 pm

**CE certificates are available for those who attend the session**

 

Register today! Pick-up a registration form from the library or click here to sign up online.

Can’t attend? Contact the Health Sciences Library (766-4142 or library@rqhealth.ca) for more information.

 

Click here to take a look at Nursing Reference Center Plus today!

Jan. 21, 2015 - CPS 2015 Available now!

The print CPS 2015 is ready to order! 

Price $275 - Deadline is Feb. 11, 2015 - Please only order one copy per unit

Click here to order

 

The library also offers training sessions for the eCPS!

Learn how to use the electronic version of the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties . This class will teach you how to search and pull up drug monographs, check for drug interactions, use calculations and dosing tools, find patient handout information, and much more. 

To view the training schedule, click here

Click here to access the eCPS

Contact the library for more information at library@rqhealth.ca

 

Image credit : Canadian Pharmacists Association

Jan. 12, 2014 - MD Consult Discontinued

 MD Consult is no longer available ... but don't worry, we have you covered through a variety of  platforms!

 All your favourite Elsevier journals are still available. Search TDNet for a full list  of full-text journals. 

 Keep current with your favourite journals by signing up for electronic table of  contents alerts.  Contact the library with a list of titles you would like to receive.

Dec. 31, 2014 - Lexicomp Online Training

Lexicomp® Online™ and Mobile Apps help you work efficiently by providing instant access to evidence-based drug information, including adult, pediatric, and geriatric dosing; drug allergies and interactions; toxicology; drug identification; and medical calculators on your computer, tablet, and smartphone.

Onsite Training with the Health Sciences Library and a Lexicomp representative:  3:00-4:00pm, Jan. 19th, 2015 - Meeting Room #3, RGH

Click here to register!

Webex Training: Contact the library for details at library@rqhealth.ca or 766.4142

 **CE certificates are available for those who attend the session**

 

Get started! Access Lexicomp Online: http://online.lexi.com

Nov. 27, 2014 - New Resource: Auscultation Skills

The 5th edition of Auscultation Skills: Breath & Heart Sounds is now available at the library through STAT!Ref. This electronic book provides users with the opportunity to listen to normal and abnormal breath and heart sounds. As well, this electronic book provides information on general and complex ausculatory techniques.

Click here to learn more about auscultation techniques and the sounds you should be listening to!

Search below to find other eBooks in our collection!

 

Quick Search: 
? 

Oct. 17, 2014 - Saskatchewan Library Week 2014 Prizes Announced!

Join the Health Sciences Library for a celebration October 20-22nd honouring Saskatchewan Library Week. Library staff will be at the RGH, WRC, and Pasqua cafeterias (see schedule below) handing out tasty treats and information regarding some exciting new changes for off site access to the online collection. Fill out a ballot form for a chance to win an amazing prize. The grand prize winner will be selected from the location with the most people entering the contest!

 Date  Facility  Time
 Mon. Oct. 20th  RGH Cafeteria  12 - 1 pm
 Tues. Oct. 21st  WRC Cafeteria  12 - 1 pm
 Wed. Oct. 22nd  Pasqua Cafeteria  12 - 1 pm